About Teeth

As you go through life, you will have two sets of teeth:

  1. Baby teeth (primary)
  2. Permanent teeth (adult/secondary)

Baby Teeth

Even before you can see them, primary teeth are developing under the gums of your infant. Around the age of 6-8 months, the primary teeth will begin to appear; all 20 are in place by age 3.
Though they eventually fall out, taking care of your child’s primary teeth is important because they reserve space in the jaw for permanent teeth.
Children usually lose their primary teeth between the ages of 6 and 12. The usual sequence for losing primary teeth begins with the lower front teeth, followed by the upper front teeth.   Eventually, all 20 primary teeth will be lost.

Permanent Teeth

Permanent teeth will begin to grow around age 6. All teeth will have erupted by age 14 with the exception of wisdom teeth. Permanent teeth develop in the following age sequence:

Upper Teeth:
Incisors (front teeth): Age 7 to 9
Canine (fang-like teeth): Age 11 to 12
Premolars (side teeth): Age 10 to 12
First Molar: Age 10 to 12
Second molar: Age 12 to 13
Wisdom teeth: Age 17 to 21


Lower Teeth:
Incisors (front teeth):   Age 6 to 8
Canine (fang-like teeth): Age 9 to 10
Premolars (side teeth): Age 10 to 12
First molar: Age 6 to 7 
Second molar: Age 11 to 13
Wisdom teeth: Age 17 to 21

Once all have erupted, you have 32 permanent teeth. Because many people do not have room for all 32 teeth, the wisdom teeth have to be removed.

Your permanent teeth are the ones you keep for life, so it is vital that they are brushed and flossed regularly and that periodic check-ups by a dentist are followed.